Author Topic: MRI Tommorow  (Read 3667 times)

sarah001

MRI Tommorow
« on: June 17, 2011, 07:24:39 am »
I am at last having an MRI IAM scan tomorrow, feeling quite worried now though as I have not had one before.

Sarah

TJ

• 1.2 cm AN right side, CK November 2010
Re: MRI Tommorow
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2011, 09:52:08 am »
Sara

I know it is easy to say, but just try to relax, it will be OK.  Whatever they find or don't find, at this point you cannot change it.
Best of luck

TJ

Twindad

« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2011, 01:04:24 pm »
Sara,
  I look at all of this technology that we have at our disposal as a blessing. I have had quite an active life and have had several MRI's that pinpointed and detected where to fix several things. Imagine being around 100 years ago !  I myself have recently learned of a golf ball size tumor growing in my head because a smart doctor with access to a MRI machine that found it. You will be just fine. I will say this much, I am still a newbie on this site and the support that I have gotten so far has been great. We are all people with common reason to communicate and support.
Translab Surgical approach
3.5cm x 3.8cm x 4cm. Loss of hearing on left. Removed 6-23-11 / 10.5 hrs

leapyrtwins

• I am a success story!
« Reply #3 on: June 17, 2011, 06:45:40 pm »
Good luck, Sarah.

My diagnostic MRI was my first also and I found that if I closed my eyes when I was in the tube and put my mind elsewhere (I was walking on a beach in Hawaii) it wasn't bad.  The clanging is a little loud, but you learn to tune it out.

If you find that your anxiety level is high and you just don't think you can handle the tube of gloom (as us old-timers like to call it) you can ask for a mild sedative (Atavan, I think) to help you get through it.  There is absolutely no shame in this; lots of people need help to get through an MRI.