Author Topic: Gradual Hearing loss Chicago  (Read 6449 times)

Sunny22

Gradual Hearing loss Chicago
« on: November 27, 2011, 11:58:57 am »
Hi All... Total Newbie here... I've been browsing around the site. What a great resource! I've had a gradual hearing loss (right side) and I was recently referred to Dr. Mark Wiet by a friend. I saw him at EIC thi past week. His exam was extremely thorough but he still ordered an MRI to get a better idea of what is going on. I figure it's routine, but I was wondering how many of you experienced a gradual loss and then were diagnosed with an AN? Dr. Wiet calmed my fears immensely, but I thought I would pose the question to you. Thanks!

New girl

Re: Gradual Hearing loss Chicago
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2011, 12:35:52 pm »
Hi Sunny22,

I had some slight high frequency hearing loss diagnosed about 6 years ago.  I had no other symptoms so that ENT doc said I should just monitor the hearing loss.  I didnt monitor it again until this year when I had more hearing loss and constant ringing in the same ear.  I went to a different ENT doc who sent me for an MRI.  I also has some mild balance issues which I attributed to being out of shape but now I believe to be tumor related.  Hopefully you dont have an AN.  It is treatable if you do.  Thankfully you can rule this out since your doc is sending you for an MRI now.

Best wishes! Let us know how it goes.  :)
9mmx14mmx9mm
Diagnosed 6/1/2011
Retrosigmoid Surgery 9/27/2011
Daniel Lee (MEEI) & Fred Barker (MGH) - Exceptional Surgeons

Jim Scott

• 1943-2020 Please keep Jim's family in your hearts
« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2011, 02:06:29 pm »
Sunny ~

Hi, and welcome.