Author Topic: Newbie- 31 years old, just diagnosed 10/15  (Read 15406 times)

lawmama

• I'm a Postie Now!!!
    • My AN Blog:
Newbie- 31 years old, just diagnosed 10/15
« on: October 18, 2009, 08:40:49 am »
Hello everyone.  I'm brand new to this diagnosis and to this board.  I'm a 31-year old mother of two small children, and I'm in my next-to-last year of law school.  I was suffering from severe dizziness, vertigo, and headaches (no hearing loss that I can tell).  My symptoms were making it difficult for me to concentrate and focus.  When I first went to see my doctor, I had already "diagnosed" myself with either blood-sugar issues or possible anemia.  I was a little put off when my Dr immediately sent me for an MRI just to "rule out the bad stuff first."  Within just a few days of my first appointment, I was diagnosed with a 9mm by 6mm acoustic neuroma on my left side.  I will see an ENT on Tuesday, but I'm assuming I'll just be referred to a neurologist.  I'm still doing research and emotionally processing this.

I think my main concerns are the possible effects this will have on my life.  I've gone through 8 years of college, and since law is a very service-oriented profession, I'm terrified that facial paralysis will end the career that I've fought and sacrificed for before it even begins.   Hearing loss is a real possibility, but not as scary for me because I know that I will still have hearing in one good ear.  Still, to be honest, I'm feeling pretty sorry for myself right now.   :-\