Author Topic: Newly diagnosed and overwhelmed...to say the least...  (Read 7826 times)

Julie in Michigan

Newly diagnosed and overwhelmed...to say the least...
« on: October 18, 2008, 08:23:19 am »
Hello, All and thank you for this fantastic forum...I'm learning a lot...

I've just found out I have a 1.7 cm AN.  I've been complaining of balance issuses for 2 years, but was told "it's just you and your low blood pressure" or it's menopause!  (-:  (I'm 48).  I have tinnitus and 30% deafness in my right ear.

We've been sent from my primary care doc to an ENT and now to a surgeon with the MI Ear Institute...It feels like a referral treadmill...We are doing our own research on line with the help of excellent websites like this one, but we have yet to speak with a professional who is reassuring about anything...

It seems whoever does a certain treatment (GK or surgery only) is a proponent of THAT treatment, you know what I mean?  Also, when you read about the GK option and it's lack of more of the serious side effects, it makes me wonder what other circumstances would cause someone with a small to med AN to chose a resection?

No one here does either of these treatments so we will have to travel out of town and then the question becomes how far?  After you decide which treatment, how do you decide where?

I'm overwhelmed with questions...as I continue to research, I'm so grateful for your thoughts and experiences - Thanks!

MAlegant

• 50th birthday party pic
Re: Newly diagnosed and overwhelmed...to say the least...
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2008, 09:07:59 am »
Julie,