Author Topic: Two Weeks Post Surgery - Newbie here  (Read 2436 times)

syllymom

Two Weeks Post Surgery - Newbie here
« on: May 21, 2014, 09:53:23 pm »
Hi, I'm new here. My Mom is now two weeks post surgery of removal of an AN tumor. We were told it was the 4.2 cm. It was discovered end of January when she had an extreme headache. From there things went downhill. It was determined that there was bleed on and inside the tumor (she had fallen and hit her head a few days older). She developed hydrocephalus and had a shunt put it. Dr said after the shunt that she can go home and get stronger and then see about surgery for the tumor. Wait and see approach. Unfortunately things did not get better and she continued on a journey of brain stem compression. By April she ended up in ICU and the doctors telling us that surgery if very risky and most likely will not improve from her current state or be worse off, BUT if we still want to move forward with surgery they would do it. They really were trying to talk us (her children) out of surgery. We talked to our mom about it and determined she still wanted the surgery. At this point she had nothing to lose... she was in bad shape. Two more weeks went by before the surgery happened and by that point she was next to unresponsive.
Now, two weeks post surgery she is awake and alert, still sleeps a lot but more awake time happening. She can move her eyes to look around and moves her mouth to speak. She is breathing on her own but has a trach now for suctioning as she needs to build up her strength to cough and clear her airways, which we already hear her coughing more once again.  She can also raise and move her arm again and she says that vision is improving and only sometimes seeing double. Her body is deconditioned so has little muscle strength.