Author Topic: what can I expect after surgery  (Read 5602 times)

trudy

what can I expect after surgery
« on: November 05, 2005, 10:50:14 am »
Hi!  I am new to this and am having surgery at Univ of PA in Phila on Dec 16th.  My tumor has not destroyed my hearing, in fact I have very slight loss only to high frequencies on that side.  It is
pressing on my brainstem and has caused some imbalance problems which is why I complained to my
doctor in the first place.  I have been reading all the messages and am hoping for a good outcome -
the removal will be retrosigmoid and has anyone come out of that with their hearing intact?  I have
some facial symptoms - tingling lips and now a very dry mouth.  It seems that I am noticing things
that I never would have in the past.  My musles seem weaker and I have been a walking on a treadmill
for many years - so shouldn't all be due to the "aging process".  I am soon to be 53 - was always in
good health and although I am very grateful that this is a benign tumor - still scared of the surgery.

Terri

Re: what can I expect after surgery
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2005, 04:38:48 pm »
The very best thing you can do is to check and double check the credentials of your surgical team. Make sure they have done a minimum of HUNDREDS of acoustic neuroma excisions. If not, find a team that has. From all I've read, the House Clinic in Los Angeles appears to have the best record of success with minimal complications.

I was almost 52 when I had surgery, and my surgery was a complete success at removing the tumor (mine was translab). Although my facial nerve was monitored and kept intact during surgery, it still was traumatized by post-operative swelling and the stress of the 10-hour procedure (my tumor was pressing against the brainstem and had begun to grow vertically along it). I've struggled with recovery from facial paralysis for the last two years. I'm still regaining function as the nerve grows back, but it is very, very slow.