Author Topic: My Fellow Wonkyheads  (Read 10254 times)

LADavid

My Fellow Wonkyheads
« on: July 16, 2009, 09:17:18 am »
I mentioned this in the Community Section a week ago, but I'm moving  up here to keep you updated.  Over the past two months my balance had become very bad -- the worst since surgery.  So bad that I fell getting off a bus.  This led to talks with my PT, Theresa England and my House doctor, Dr Slattery.  After an ENG test and a few others, I qualified for and was accepted into a research study program testing a system called the Brain Port -- which if successful in it's mission, it will train the vestibular system to behave.  I am one of 250 test subjects in the country.  It's something of a bio-feedback system.

I started training in the PT office on Monday and concluded Wednesday.  Now for the next 8 weeks, I do the program at home.

Here's what I've discovered.  It's very hard and tiring being a lab rat.   Each day in the office there were two gruelling one hour sessions seperated by a four hour break -- very needed. But!  The good news!  Immediately after the first session yesterday, I felt as normal as I have since surgery.  Unfortunately, it wore off after an hour or so.  But according to the test coordinator, the longer I use the program, the longer the residual effects willl be -- until they become permanent.

It is tough.  To give you some sense of the torture er I mean test -- for the last part of the hour session, I stood on a bouncy foam cushion in a corner with my feet close together with the Brain Port device attached to me with my eyes closed --- for 20 MINUTES!.  I've done the 2 minute stuff before -- but 20!  The last time I stood still for that long was in ROTC in college.