Author Topic: Tell me about life post radiation  (Read 3439 times)

jbbrown15

Tell me about life post radiation
« on: October 11, 2010, 01:24:35 pm »
I am an attorney and was diagnosed last month with a 2.9 cm AN.  I am trying to keep up somewhat with work while I wait to start my radiation therapy at Jeff in Phila. It has been a huge struggle.  My head rarely feels well, I'm always exhausted and I get dizzy spells. Steroids have helped, but I still can't work much.

I'm looking at 25-30 sessions of radiation. I expect some temporary swelling and hope for eventual shrinkage. I do have "mass effect", as the tumor is pressing on my brain stem.

I would like to hear what life has been like after radiation, whether it's good or bad. I do have long term disability insurance, if necessary. 
Jean
2.9 cm AN on left side diagnosed 9/9/2010
Finished 26 sessions of fractionated stereotactic radiation on 11/22/2010
Symptoms of increased intracranial pressure since summer of 2010. Trying to determine if related to AN.  Some good doctors say yes, some good doctors say no.

Doc

• “Shake off the BooHoo and get with the program”
Re: Tell me about life post radiation
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2010, 02:44:22 pm »
As far as I'm concerned the best possible thing you can do right now is keep as normal a schedule as you can. Unless your just unable to function effectively, staying engaged in life and your normal routine is so important.

I went through surgery and radiation. You didn't detail your planned course of treatment much, so its hard to guess what you might experience. For what its worth, I worked up until the day before my surgery and was back at my desk 10 days after surgery and a three week hospital stay...I had a near 5 cm in diameter Brain Booger.