Author Topic: problems with word finding/memory  (Read 7090 times)

Jim Scott

• 1943-2020 Please keep Jim's family in your hearts
Re: problems with word finding/memory
« Reply #15 on: May 17, 2008, 05:02:46 pm »
Interesting thread.

I don't believe AN surgery or radiation treatment has much effect on cognitive issues, but then, I'm not a doctor and of course, I could be wrong. 

Like many, I occasionally forget things and have to struggle to recall the names of famous people, movies, songs, etc.  I'm also 65, which I assume is a factor.  However, my wife, who is a decade younger, has similar problems with recalling certain specific incidents, names, etc.  I think we tend to recall what's important to us, 'forget' what isn't and have to struggle a bit to remember things that have only a passing importance to us, such as the names of actors, lyrics to songs, and the like.  I doubt AN surgery/radiation is the culprit. 

Jim
4.5 cm AN diagnosed 5/06.  Retrosigmoid surgery 6/06.  Follow-up FSR completed 10/06.  Tumor shrinkage & necrosis noted on last MRI.  Life is good. 

Life is not the way it's supposed to be. It's the way it is.  The way we cope with it is what makes the difference.

oHIo

« Reply #16 on: May 17, 2008, 06:42:49 pm »
I had word finding issues prior to my AN surgery.  I attributed this to being tired all of the time and a stressful life.  Since my surgery, I have not noticed nearly as many issues, but I am not yet back to work or quite back to the hectic pace I used to keep.  It will be interesting to see if the word finding issues return.

For anyone taking Topamax for headaches, word finding issues are a documented side effect for some people. 

claire1

« Reply #17 on: May 20, 2008, 09:34:24 pm »
Hi everyone