Author Topic: How much does surgery cost?  (Read 4180 times)

bunny

How much does surgery cost?
« on: August 08, 2008, 05:14:59 pm »
Hi everyone,

I just told by my doctor that I have AN.  He suggests me to do a retrosigmoid surgery to remove my tumor.  Some of my friends suggest me to do this surgery at House with Dr. Schwartz.  Is he a good doctor on AN surgery? Since I may not have insurance to cover my cost.  Does anyone know about approx. how much would that cost, in terms of surgery plus hospital fee? 
Thanks

AMD

• I'm sorry, could you repeat that?
Re: How much does surgery cost?
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2008, 06:12:46 pm »
Hello Bunny,

Sorry to hear your diagnosis of AN, but welcome to the club.  I have no idea what the cost would be at a place like that, but I work in a hospital in Indiana, and a 5-day stay at the hospital, plus surgery costs, plus whatever the surgeon, assistant surgeon, and anesthesiologist charge, you could easily rack up a bill in the six figure range unfortunately.  Then again, depending on where you have it done, my guess could be far off.  Your surgeon should have a better idea, and the facility you're looking at probably has different options for payment, and those who don't have insurance.  Just ask, they should be able to tell ya ballpark range what you're looking at and you can go from there.  Sorry for the vague answer.  Good luck and read this forum...... lots of great info.  Just post new questions if need be....

Amy :)
Left side 1.7 cm AN diagnosed 7/30/08
Misdiagnosed for 8 + years
Surgery, Sub-occipital, 11/17/2008 at Indiana University Hospital
Left SSD
Tumor much larger than expected. Facial nerves intact, but had RARE swelling resulting in brachial plexus injury and tracheostomy after surgery.

lori67

« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2008, 06:53:06 pm »
Hi Bunny and welcome.