Author Topic: vestibular therapy  (Read 5158 times)

satman

vestibular therapy
« on: July 10, 2007, 02:24:15 pm »
while i'm not new to the AN thing,i am new to vestibular therapy,WOW!
so has this happened to any of my Compadres, i kept asking
myself today at P.T.(physical therapy).i had a new therapist today and she
pulled out some que cards with letters on them.my eyes and head were supposed to follow
them as she moved them.all of a sudden i started to feel sick,and sweated like you wouldnt believe,associated
with the "normal dizziness".it seems like everyday it's something new,I just wish the ride would end!
is this a common thing with vestibular therapy,or is something else wrong now?i guess i could'nt find the venting section,ha,ah.. 
kicked my little 8cm buddy to the curb-c ya !

Jeanlea

Re: vestibular therapy
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2007, 09:57:40 pm »
Hi Satman,

I had something similar happen to me my first time at vestibular therapy.  He was testing me by putting this thing on my head, told me to move my head left to right and back again and tell him which way the E was pointing.  Most of the time I couldn't even see the E.  Before I knew it I was passing out!  The next time I went to therapy I was at least able to complete the test.  It does get better.  Does your therapist have the "box"?  I would get strapped in and then he would move the box various directions while I tried to stay upright.  Doing it with my eye closed was the hardest.  Good luck with your therpy.

Jean
translab on 3.5+ cm tumor
September 6, 2005
Drs. Friedland and Meyer
Milwaukee, WI
left-side facial paralysis and numbness
TransEar for SSD

satman

« Reply #2 on: July 11, 2007, 12:09:20 pm »
i  havent been in the box yet,now i have something to look forward to.ha,ha
kicked my little 8cm buddy to the curb-c ya !

Ellenmn

« Reply #3 on: July 11, 2007, 05:33:11 pm »
I go for my first visit to the therapist tomorrow afternoon. Boy it sure sounds like fun to me ::)

Jeanlea