Author Topic: CT scan versus MRI  (Read 5250 times)

Carol Nannis

CT scan versus MRI
« on: June 14, 2006, 01:06:31 pm »
I have a question.  I'm really new to all this.  I was told about three weeks ago that I have an acoustic neuroma from a CT scan which was taken following a fainting episode and subsequent brain concussion.  I saw a neuro surgeon which I was told to do by my hematologist who ordered the CT scan.  He saw what they were talking about on the CT scan, but ordered an MRI which I had this past Monday.  His nurse called me this morning and said the MRI was normal.  Have any of you had this happen and what am I suppose to think?  Of course,  I am very happy if there is nothing there, but what did the CT scan show.  The doctor's PA is going to call me back today sometime, but I thought I would see if any of you have had this happen to them.  I'm afraid to be too optimistic in case there is something there.  Thanks for your help.
Carol

Captain Deb

• Phearless Phyll and Captain Deb!
    • Captain Deb
Re: CT scan versus MRI
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2006, 01:17:14 pm »
Carol,
Did they give you a big ole' shot about 1/2 way through everything? That means they did a contrast MRI, actually if you got the shot 1/2 way through that means they gave you an MRI with and without contrast.  If you didn't get the shot, well time to start screamin' at your doc--the only way to get a definitive diagnosis of an AN is with a contrast MRI which will give a pretty exact view of the size and position of it.
I really HOPE your MRI was normal!
Capt Deb
"You only have two choices, having fun or freaking out"-Jimmy Buffett
50-ish with a 1x.7x.8cm.AN
Mid-fossa HEI, Jan 03 Friedman & Hitselberger
Chronic post-op headaches
Captain & Designated Driver of the PBW

Joef

• ** I rather be Kayak Fishing **
« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2006, 01:54:03 pm »