Author Topic: Doctor, I can't hear you!  (Read 5416 times)

Ingy M

Doctor, I can't hear you!
« on: February 16, 2007, 11:42:08 am »
Hello everyone, I am new here and this is my first post. I await diagnosis following my MRI on March 3rd. I have the general symptoms that seem very common with most people here.
I started with hearing loss in the L ear a few years back. I first noticed it by the difference in sound when on the phone.
I worked as a Flight Attendant for 18 yrs and felt that the reduction in hearing was due to that. Had several hearing tests over the years, however, severe vertigo appeared this past summer which brought me in to see my doctor. It lasted a few months and now has reduced in severity and happens occasionally. I always have the feeling of fullness and experience ear pain on a weekly basis, only in the left ear.  I suffer from severe headache attacks and range of motion isn't good when turning my neck towards the left. I often feel like my brain is too big for my skull.
I have some strange symptoms that I wonder if they are part of AN. I find this difficult to explain, but when I walk, I somethimes get this sound in my L ear and it feels/sounds like my tympanic membrame is fluttering. It's like a drum with some slack in the skin. It lasts for a bit and then disappears. The doctor was a bit puzzled by this one. He did a pressure test in that ear and there is NO movement at all.  The other is, I do experience some buzzing in my ear, but it is in the right ear.  That only last for a few seconds. I sometimes feel a tingle near my temple and left cheek, and I have a tickle in my ear..  It is pretty faint but sense a difference.
Having this potential AN removed isn't so scary, but the post surgery effects scare the crap out of me. 
Any chance that this isn't an AN?

Thanks for taking the time to read this...I really appreciate it.

ingy

ppearl214

• Administrator
  • ANA Forum Policewoman - PBW Cursed Cruise Director
Re: Doctor, I can't hear you!