Author Topic: Ear - Eye - Nose... all affected?  (Read 6456 times)

maarten

Ear - Eye - Nose... all affected?
« on: April 09, 2013, 01:33:20 pm »
I had a left side tumor removed surgically. I have severe dry eye on tumor side as I'm no longer producing tears. It seems my left nasal passge is also affected...constant bleeds and difficulty breathing/congested. Everything always on left side. I know the dry eye is a very common after effect, but does anyone have similar issues with nasal passage? Thanks!

Tod

• My blog (work and life)
Re: Ear - Eye - Nose... all affected?
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2013, 05:42:01 pm »
I do. In my case it is because of the hemifacial spasms/synkenesis that is pulling my nose to the upper left of my face and collapsing my nostril. However, given the other minor issues I have, I would not be surprised if your problem was related to nerve involvement/trauma.

On the other hand, it could be completely unrelated.

-Tod
Bob the tumor: 4.4cm x 3.9cm x 4.1 cm.
Trans-Lab and Retro-sigmoid at MCV on 2/12/2010.

Removed 90-95% in a 32 hour surgery. Two weeks in ICU.  SSD Left.

http://randomdatablog.com

BAHA implant 1/25/11.

28 Sessions of FSR @ MCV ended 2/9/12.

mk

« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2013, 10:59:01 am »
I have the same problem. My right eye does not produce tears, and my right nostril is always extremely dry (whereas my left is constantly runny because of allergic rhinitis). My ENT thinks that the nose dryness is associated to the dry eye, because all these passages being connected.
I try to keep my nostril moist as much as possible. I use products like Rhinaris, and a non medicated hydrating spray (nasogel, which contains sodium hyaluronate). The various saline nasal rinses can also help. You can find these products OTC, you will need to experiment quite a bit to find which one works for you.

Marianna