Author Topic: New to this site  (Read 3563 times)

brayty22

New to this site
« on: April 05, 2010, 09:59:18 pm »
Hey everyone! I am new to all of this. I am a 28 year old mother of 2. I am engaged to be married to the most wonderful man on July 31 of this year. I was diagnosed with a 2.6 cm AN about 2 weeks ago. I am scheduled for surgery on April 20th. I am so happy that I found this site because it seems that any other stories I have read on the internet have been horrible. I decided to get on here because I thought it would be helpful to speak with others going through the same thing. As far as the surgery goes, what should I expect? Ive always thought it may be better to expect the worst, but hope for the best!! That way you wont be disappointed!
Crystal

sgerrard

Re: New to this site
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2010, 12:48:49 am »
I think you are right, it will be helpful to speak to others going through surgery. They will be along shortly. :)

Expecting the worst so you won't be disappointed and may be pleasantly surprised is a good way to go, as long as you don't really expect the worst and get all down about it. Many times it goes pretty well, and it is certainly better than "horrible." Well, except maybe the first three days after surgery, but as we like to say around here, the first three days don't count.

Welcome to forum.

Steve
8 mm left AN June 2007,  CK at Stanford Sept 2007.
Hearing lasted a while, but left side is deaf now.
Right side is weak too. Life is quiet.

cindyj

« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2010, 07:14:29 am »
Hello and welcome to the site!  Congratulations on your upcoming marriage!  With your surgery scheduled for this month, you should be quite ready for your wedding and new life to begin.  I notice you are in SC...I'm in GA, just north of Atl.  My mom lives in Greenville, SC.  Do you know which surgical approach the docs will be doing?