Author Topic: Hearing  (Read 2950 times)

lunar

Hearing
« on: July 22, 2011, 12:07:41 pm »
Hi everyine.  I've never posted on a forum about this before and I know I should go to my doctor but I wanted to ask is it normakl to have hearing for a few weeks and then lose it for two weeks? I don't lose it completley it's just very dull, almost nothing like when you wear ear plugs, does anybody else get this?

Thanks.

Jim Scott

• 1943-2020 Please keep Jim's family in your hearts
Re: Hearing
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2011, 12:16:56 pm »
Lunar ~

I never had the loss of hearing you describe (mine just slowly got worse in the affected ear) and I'm not a doctor so I won't attempt to offer any explanations.  I will recommend that you see your doctor and  if he/she doesn't see a problem they'll very likely refer you to an ENT physician.  My only advice is that, if the ENT doesn't seem to find anything wrong with the ear, that you request he/she order an MRI scan 'just in case'.  Frankly, I hope you just have a build-up of 'ear wax'.  My son had that once or twice and it was treated in the doctors office by the Physicians Assistant.  His hearing immediately returned to normal.  That was a decade ago.  Perhaps you'll be as fortunate.  Please let us know.  Thanks.

Jim  
4.5 cm AN diagnosed 5/06.  Retrosigmoid surgery 6/06.  Follow-up FSR completed 10/06.  Tumor shrinkage & necrosis noted on last MRI.  Life is good. 

Life is not the way it's supposed to be. It's the way it is.  The way we cope with it is what makes the difference.

CHD63

• Life is good again!!
« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2011, 12:32:50 pm »
Hi lunar .....

Jim has already given you a good answer so I will not repeat.

I did not have my hearing go and then come back.  My hearing loss was sudden and felt like it was stopped up or that I was up on a mountain.  Some AN patients do have loss and then come back again for a while, or until treatment.  Can be quite different.