Author Topic: new as AN patient  (Read 6505 times)

MichelleN

new as AN patient
« on: March 09, 2007, 12:27:12 pm »
Like i said, I am new to this. I was just diagnosed in February and I am scheduled for surgery in April. I will be having my surgery at the University of Pennsylvania Hosp. I am confident with my doctors as they do these often. The difference is my head and my side affects.I am very concerned about the side affects of the surgery. I know I will lose all my hearing in the right ear, but I am concerned with facial paralysis and eye difficulties. I would like to hear some positive feedback since all I have been able to read is negative. SOME HELP PEASE.
Michelle

Palace

• Palace
Re: new as AN patient
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2007, 12:30:01 pm »
Hello:

I have read of successful surgeries but, what was the story on you?  Can you not consider the CK?  (or something else)  How big is that tumor, again?

You'll get there.  The deciding and waiting is sometimes the hardest part.

Palace
22 mm Acoustic Neuroma (right side)
Cyberknife, Nov. & Dec. 2006
Dr. Iris Gibbs & Dr. Blevins @ Stanford
single sided deafness

jtd71465

« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2007, 12:45:28 pm »
I had surgery on January 10th this year.  I took no complications...face is fine...tumor was totally removed...I just have decreased hearing on my right side.  My surgery was only 3.5 hours long...I had it done at NYU Medical Center, if placed in the same situation I would not do anything differently.

I'm at 80-90% and getting better each day.

Stay positive, I also had the same issue prior to surgery...it seemed like everything I was reading was negative.

Joe-
Right side AN removed 1/10/07 @ NYU Medical Center
Dr's Roland and Golfinos

rebarman

« Reply #3 on: March 09, 2007, 01:05:59 pm »