Author Topic: What are a BAHA and Transear?  (Read 3622 times)

Nicole222

• Nicole, Mommy to Jordan
What are a BAHA and Transear?
« on: May 04, 2008, 05:13:28 am »
I'm very new to all of this and have a surgery date scheduled.  I am dreading losing all my hearing on one side.  It's been hard enough just with a moderate loss.  Anyway, can someone give me a brief desription of these?  Can they be seen by others?  Do you wear them or are they implanted?  Thanks!
Had surgery (retrosigmoid) May 9th, 2008 to remove a 3.5cm AN from left side.
Home one week later, no facial nerve damage. 
SSD -Left ear.
Thankful daily for fantastic surgeons and wonderful family and friends.
34 years old.  Married mommy to Jordan, 23 months.

ppearl214

• Administrator
  • ANA Forum Policewoman - PBW Cursed Cruise Director
Re: What are a BAHA and Transear?
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2008, 06:04:35 am »
Hi Nicole,

I'm not sure if you have had a chance to peruse the "Hearing Issues" forum (http://anausa.org/forum/index.php?board=17.0) but there are many threads/conversations about BAHA and Transear (even a rep from Transear, Rick, participates on this discussion forum).  Hoping that forum will help give you answers you seek.

Phyl
"Gentlemen, I wash my hands of this weirdness", Capt Jack Sparrow - Davy Jones Locker, "Pirates of the Carribbean - At World's End"

leapyrtwins

• I am a success story!
« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2008, 10:52:27 pm »
Nicole -

as Phyl mentioned there are lots of posts about both the TransEar and the BAHA - you can find them by searching, but I'll give you a quick rundown.

The TransEar is a hearing aid that you wear inside your ear.  I don't know a lot about it, but from what I've read on this forum, those who have it really like it.  TransEar users that come to mind are Boppie and Katie (krbonner) - although I know for a fact there are many others.