Author Topic: amount of radiation  (Read 6364 times)

koch

amount of radiation
« on: November 01, 2010, 01:27:55 pm »
I was just told "my tumor received 12.5 Gy to its margin" during gamma knife.  Can anyone tell me whether this is high, low, or average?  I'm not sure exactly the size of my tumor but it was "small" ie maybe 10mm. 

Jim Scott

• 1943-2020 Please keep Jim's family in your hearts
Re: amount of radiation
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2010, 01:57:10 pm »
Koch ~

I'm not a doctor or an expert in radiation but I recall my radiation oncologist telling me that I received a total of 27 gy over my 26 FSR sessions to destroy the DNA on a re-sectioned AN that was approximately 2.5 cm at the time it was radiated.  He stated it was the least amount of radiation that would be effective on the tumor.  I suffered no ill effects from the radiation and it did the job, with the AN showing necrosis and shrinkage within a year of being radiated.

On that basis, I would venture a guess that 12.5 gy is a low amount of radiation.  However, a call to your doctor would likely render a more credible answer to your question.

Jim
4.5 cm AN diagnosed 5/06.  Retrosigmoid surgery 6/06.  Follow-up FSR completed 10/06.  Tumor shrinkage & necrosis noted on last MRI.  Life is good. 

Life is not the way it's supposed to be. It's the way it is.  The way we cope with it is what makes the difference.

koch

« Reply #2 on: November 01, 2010, 02:37:45 pm »
Thanks for this info, Jim

mk

« Reply #3 on: November 01, 2010, 05:23:39 pm »
This amount is standard for GK. Historically doses as high as 16 Gy were used, with detrimental effects on surrounding structures. In modern practice the amount ranges usually from 12-13 Gy, although 11 Gy is sometimes used for larger tumors, to minimize the risk of swelling. The dosage corresponding to the centre of the tumor is about 2 times this.

Marianna