Author Topic: Are you still your "self"?  (Read 6949 times)

Twindy

Are you still your "self"?
« on: January 27, 2012, 07:46:39 am »
I've read so much about never being completely "normal" after surgery.  My question is, in your core--your spirit, your thought processes etc. are you still your self?  I'm so scared I will somehow be altered in my core or my "person" after surgery.

CHD63

• Life is good again!!
Re: Are you still your "self"?
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2012, 08:25:28 am »
Hi Twindy and welcome to this forum .....

Others will chime in here very soon, I know, but I feel certain the vast majority of current posters will tell you ..... as I am ..... that my spirit and thought processes are essentially the same as pre-surgery.

I am not a doctor, but acoustic neuromas (almost always benign) originate in the internal auditory canal, which is not part of the "gray matter" in the brain.  That is why some people will argue that AN surgery is not "brain" surgery.  Technically it is skull-based surgery, but within the confines of the skull.  Some ANs encroach on the brain stem as they grow outside the IAC, which is, of course, a potentially dangerous situation.  All that being said, whenever the skull is entered (or damaged), the possibility of swelling occurs.  It is usually the swelling that causes pressure on the cerebellum.  It is that pressure that can result in temporary changes, such as fatigue, thinking processes, etc.  This is why most physicians give fairly large doses of steroids post-op to reduce this swelling.