Author Topic: When can I be active again after surgery?  (Read 3705 times)

Manders

• Look closely. God's fingerprints are everywhere.
    • Awkward Turtles
When can I be active again after surgery?
« on: February 28, 2012, 03:20:39 pm »
I am a Zumba instructor who was recently diagnosed with a 1.3cm AN. I am scheduled to have translab surgery to remove it on May 11. I am really worried because I know this surgery has a lengthy recovery period and really affects your balance and stamina. For those of you who have already gone through surgery how long was it before you could be physically active and work out again? Or dance? Zumba is a pretty high-intensity aerobic workout that involves a lot of dancing and I'm afraid that it's going to be ages before I'll be up to doing it again.
Diagnosed February 2012 * 1.3cm tumor * Experienced sudden & total hearing loss in 2007 in right ear * Translab scheduled for May 11, 2012*Follow my blog at: www.awkwardturtlesan.blogspot.com

leeclinton

Re: When can I be active again after surgery?
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2012, 08:17:01 pm »
I started light exercising 4 weeks after surgery and back to taekwondo and high intensity exercise 6 weeks after surgery.
I had a very smooth recovery and was back to work in 2.5 weeks.
3.3 cm AN removal Jan. 2012

Lynn Mc

« Reply #2 on: February 29, 2012, 05:04:03 am »
Manders,

I got on the WII fit a couple of weeks after surgery.  Slowly at first but I feel it certainly helped me recover.  Was back on my horse in 4 months.
Translab 01/22/10.  12 x 11.7 x 8.2 mm.
Dr's McKenna/McCall at Mass Eye & Ear,
Dr. Barker at MGH. 
SSD - No other significant problems post surgery, just some minor inconveniences!  Yipee!!
BAHA implant 04/08/11 Dr. Merchant
BAHA Gotcha 07/25/11
"Life is Good"

jaylogs

• Administrator
  • It's NOT a too-mah! (Anymore!)
« Reply #3 on: February 29, 2012, 09:24:55 am »