Author Topic: 4 year csf leak  (Read 9272 times)

Mark241

4 year csf leak
« on: November 28, 2010, 01:47:44 am »
Hello everyone. I'm new to this great site, but not to AN. Short version, right 3.5 cm AN removed retrosigmod Nov 06 at Barrows. Had a 3.2 cm menningioma removed from my C1, C2 in Jan 06 with no problems. The An however, has been a nightmare. Began leaking 2 weeks post-op from the incision site. I was stitched backup which lasted for a couple months. The leak began again intermittently for the next 2-3 months. Then a surgical screw came out of the site. I had surgery at U of New Mexico hospital, where I live near. The neurosurgeon there said it was a bone infection and not csf. So i was on a pic line for 8 weeks. I began leaking again about 6 months after that. I went through another surgery, where they resealed my mastoid bone, still be living it was an infection, even though my blood work was fine, and i wasn't placed on antibiotics afterward. 6 months after that I leaked again. I got back in touch with my ENT at Barrows, who ordered a technetium bone scan, the results of that showed no infection. So I just came back from Barrows last week. My new neurosurgeon, said it was a csf leak, and wants me back there in a few weeks to place an LP shunt. Hind sites 20 20 , anyone out there had an LP shunt? Please no horror stories, I've lived that long enough. Thanks   
4cm C1  16hrs                 Barrows, Jan 06      NF2
3.5 cm  Right AN retro       Barrows, Oct 06   
Cranial Plate removal           UNM Nov 07
LP                                   Barrows  Jan,2011
Wound revision                 Barrows Feb, 2011
5mm left middle Fossa,  (2) 2mm spine w&w

CHD63

• Life is good again!!
Re: 4 year csf leak
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2010, 08:34:47 am »
Mark .....

Welcome to this forum and WOW, what a nightmare you have been living.  For the newbies, what you are going through is very unusual and extremely rare.