Author Topic: what should I expect now?  (Read 2134 times)

stevenpuckett

what should I expect now?
« on: March 25, 2010, 06:52:05 pm »
Hello everyone.
 I had my stereotactic radiation surgery mar 19 at Andersen cancer inst at Memorial hosp in Sav Ga. Other than the horrific headache I had after having the halo removed I have not had any bad pain just some soreness where those hellish pins were screwed into my head for 5 hrs. By sat afternoon though my right eye swelled shut and there was swelling in the forehead and rt cheek. The Doc put me on a cortosteroid for several days that I took every 8 hrs and finished the last dose early wed morn and I haven't taken any of that awful lortab 500 since sat morn(yuck).
My energy is slowly coming back but I tire easily and have taken 2 naps a day until today which was only one for about 2 hrs. The Dotor made it sound like I would be back on my feet this week , but Im not going to work like this! I am a Marine mechanic and I am on my feet,in n out of boats,up and down ladders and around docks.Im hoping by next Mon that I will be able to be back at work. Im not used to sitting around and doing little which is driving me bonkers
My head feels like its the size of a beach ball and when I walk I feel like I want to veer to the right but I think its just due to the swelling of the area around my eye. I have also noticed that my scalp is sore in several places. My wife says that my appearance is looking better.
My question now is what should I expect in the few weeks or months ? Id like to hear from some of you that have gone through the same thing that I have. My AN was on my left side and around 12mm in size.
thanks
 Steve

leapyrtwins

• I am a success story!
Re: what should I expect now?
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2010, 07:59:53 pm »
Hi, Steve and welcome to the Forum  ;D