Author Topic: Musician with AN, contemplating Radiation/Radiosurgery  (Read 8994 times)

phantagrae

Musician with AN, contemplating Radiation/Radiosurgery
« on: April 29, 2013, 12:48:39 pm »
Hello All,

I'm new to this forum, and I'm glad to have found it.
I've just recently been diagnosed with AN and I have a lot to think about.

I'm an orchestral musician, playing 2nd Bassoon.  In looking into treatment options, I know that with surgery there is a greater risk of loss of hearing in the affected ear and facial paralysis on the affected side.
These are things that would probably end my career--I need to hear and I need fine motor control in my mouth (and my eye).

So, the ENT I saw last week, who is referring me to a neurosurgeon and radiosurgeon for consultation, feels that radiation is the best option to preserve my hearing and facial nerve.
I think I've been a little naive in the way I've been thinking about treatment and results and after-effects, but I'm hoping that radiation can give me the best outcome.

I've been aware for some time that I don't hear as well in my right ear as I do in my left, but since I've been playing in orchestras since 8th grade (and in band starting in 4th grade) and I'm now in my early 50s, I figured it was from spending about 40 years sitting in front of trumpets, trombones and French horns, having them blasting at the back of my head.

But in 2010 I noticed a significant change.  My right ear felt stuffed up, like my ear needed to "pop" and wouldn't, and I would experience louder sounds like a pressure against my ear, rather than just sound.