Author Topic: Newbie introduction  (Read 8075 times)

oHIo

Newbie introduction
« on: October 04, 2007, 09:40:37 pm »
Hello everyone.  I’ve finally decided to come out of hiding and introduce myself.  I starting lurking on this discussion forum at the end of June when I was diagnosed with a 1.8cm AN extending from my right IAC to my CP angle.  Symptoms that led to my diagnosis were two episodes, four months apart, of disabling vertigo that put me flat on my back for five days.  After the second episode, my balance never fully recovered.  An ENT noted a small sensorineural hearing loss in my right ear but 100% speech discrimination.  I am going to vestibular rehab to help with the balance issues.

I am in the watch and wait mode while I explore surgical options, get multiple opinions, and come to a decision that I can live with if things do not go well.  My fears are compounded by the fact that I am a pediatric neurology nurse who knows that no option is without potential risk.

I feel that I already know many of you as I have read and reread every post on this board.  Today I am finally ready to be an official member of “the clubâ€?. 

Larry

• Scallywags Rule
    • Chronologer of the PBW
Re: Newbie introduction
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2007, 10:19:56 pm »
Welcome aboard oHIo,

Given your extensive research, the watch and ait mode (same as me) is not a bad option. A 1.8cm AN is still "under the threshhold" of all options being available to you. Only if your everyday life is affected would you have to choose something. These things don't grow that rapidy and if you can avoid surgery or radiation treatment, then do so.

cheers

Laz
2.0cm AN removed Nov 2002.
Dr Chang St Vincents, Sydney
Australia. Regrowth discovered
Nov 2005. Watch and wait until 2010 when I had radiotherapy. 20% shrinkage and no change since - You beauty
Chronologer of the PBW
http://www.frappr.com/laz

Boppie

« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2007, 10:52:16 pm »