Author Topic: students interested in AN  (Read 3742 times)

cmb981

students interested in AN
« on: February 14, 2007, 10:38:25 am »
Hello.  I am a USC student in the doctorate of physical therapy program.  Five of my classmates and I are currently working on an integrated project with a focus on acoustic schwannoma.  Our goals are to understand the diagnosis (its pathology, disease course, signs and symptoms, etc), to identify the impairments and functional limitations people with acoustic schwannoma face, and to research and create physical therapy intervention plans for the patient with acoustic schwannoma.  An integral part of this project is meeting a person with the diagnosis of acoustic schwannoma and conducting an interview with this person to learn about their specific point in the continuum of the disease process and how it has affected their life.  We would ask to meet with this person 3 to 4 times between now and the middle of April to conduct interviews, identify their impairments, and perform appropriate therapy interventions under the supervision of a licensed physical therapist who is part of the USC physical therapy faculty.  If you are in the Los Angeles area and would be willing to share your experiences and enrich our understanding of acoustic schwannoma, please contact me.  We are looking for someone who has already undergone some treatment (surgery, radiation, etc).  Please reply to this message, or email or call me with any questions or suggestions.  Thank you.
~Crystal M. Becker, SPT
cmbecker@usc.edu
626-792-1189
619-405-3387

matti

Re: students interested in AN
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2007, 10:48:29 am »
I don't live in the L.A. area, but will be very interested in your findings. Please keep us updated and thanks in advance for helping make our AN lives easier.

Cheryl
3.5 cm  - left side  Single sided deafness 
Middle Fossa Approach - California Ear Institute at Stanford - July 1998
Dr. Joseph Roberson and Dr. Gary Steinberg