Author Topic: MUSIC THERAPY  (Read 5475 times)

lori78

MUSIC THERAPY
« on: June 02, 2007, 10:04:50 pm »
ok, so I have gone from horrid depression to Zoloft--- Gift of the Gods!

I wanted to address, while happy, that I am a music therapist.  I work for a home for middle aged folks w cerebral palsy, MS, retardation, post car accident spinal cord inury and paralysis.et it!!  They are ALL in wheelchairs.  It is a unique facility and my residents (some) are like my own kids, and I'm only 29.   I can go to work w my deficits and they get it!  It is truly moyivational and humbling to have this awful AN and see what my residents go thru daily.  In addition to PT and OT, being my own client as an MT has helped a lot. particularly w gait training.  Rhythm is a huge component w balance.  Yesterday I stood on one foot at a time, didn't fall, and had my first highway drive and was fine. YAY!    Now, there aren't many music therapists in private practice, so if anyone want some ideas, please write me for suggestions.  Here are a few:

1.  OT can be boring as ****, why not add music?  my ipod saved me while I re learned to write.  Think about how u use music to cope prior to AN.  For relaxation, motivation, exercise, and emotional fulfillment.

2.  Rhythm.  If u got it, flaunt it!  Did u know people w autism live w brains of chaos, but respond to the order of rhythm?  Walk to the beat of music. do OT exercises to the beat of ur own drum!  And remember, everyone ressponds to music, whether u have the gift or not.

3.  Dance!  Even if u fall down!  Believe me--- I fall all the time!

4.  Lastly, if you have the funds, see an MT.  Think about how moving lyrics and tunes can be..... TRUE therapy, if you ask me.  That's my two cents.

Rock on, AN survivors!  Lori
Lori, Left AN,  2 translab surgeries and GK radiation, 3.5 cm x 3.5 cm, Dr. Singh Sahni and Drs Fred and Wayne Schia, Chippenham Johnston-Willis, Richmond, VA. Deaf in left, temp paralysis post surg 1/07

Rc Moser