Author Topic: A New Member  (Read 3181 times)

Bonnie

A New Member
« on: November 27, 2005, 10:55:15 am »
Hello to all, what a wonderful support mechanism you provide.
I was diagnosed with an acoustic neuroma (4mm) 9 years ago and have been completely deaf in my left ear since then. My neuro-otologist advised that there was nothing to gain from surgery at the time becasue I was 100% deaf. Had there been a chance that he could have saved some hearing he would have suggested surgery right away. We have been monitoring the growth and it is now 15mm(1.5 cm) and surgery is now recommended. I am begining to experience subtle balance changes  and the size of the tumour is on the verge of leaving the "small" category.I will have a trans-labrynthie excision done in the early new year (tentative date is Feb 7). My circumstances give evidence to the slow growth rate of these tumours.  Am I nervous? You bet! Ignorance is bliss and I wish that was the case for me now. I am a registered nurse and I know the risks of surgery and the complexity of this procedure, however I also know the questions to ask, have  witnessed the great advances in surgery and I have confidence in my surgeon. I am furtunate to live in a large Canadian urban center with a university hospital that has a very good reputation for neurosurgery.
What the books and reading don't help with though is the personal experience and feelings of waiting and recuperating. There isn't anything better than the voice of expereince and the commradarie of those with a similar problem. I welcome anyone's words of wisdom and support....particularily about the immediate post-operative phase in terms of pain, balance and nausea.
Thanks in advance...Bonnie
Bonnie
Left ear 1.5 cm

russ

Re: A New Member
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2005, 02:27:20 pm »
Hi Bonnie!
  Welcome.
  Everyone's experience is different. I had no residual headache and an uneventful recovery following translab.