Author Topic: Nerve Question?  (Read 2731 times)

Micky

Nerve Question?
« on: June 18, 2008, 11:58:49 pm »
Hi all my question is why can’t they graft or put back a nerve when the cut it, I had  perfect hearing before surgery and SSD now, they can do so much in the medical industry why cant they graft acoustic nerves?
Cheers for your time. 
3cm+ Acoustic Neuroma Removed 30/01/08

leapyrtwins

• I am a success story!
Re: Nerve Question?
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2008, 12:07:07 am »
Micky -

I'm not a doctor, but it is my understanding that the hearing nerve is a very delicate nerve and therefore is easily damaged.  I'm assuming that if it's that hard to damage, it must be equally hard to repair.

On the flip side, facial nerves are easily damaged, but they are a little "heartier" than hearing nerves which means they have the ability to regenerate over time.

Jan
Retrosig 5/31/07 Drs. Battista & Kazan (Hinsdale, Illinois)
Left AN 3.0 cm (1.5 cm @ diagnosis 6 wks prior) SSD. BAHA implant 3/4/08 (Dr. Battista) Divino 6/4/08  BP100 4/2010 BAHA 5 8/2015

I don't actually "make" trouble..just kind of attract it, fine tune it, and apply it in new and exciting ways

sgerrard

« Reply #2 on: June 19, 2008, 12:12:13 am »
I think it is a difference between muscle control nerves, like the facial nerve, and sensory nerves, like the hearing nerve or the optic nerve. For the sensory nerves, there are just too many tiny little connections to be made to have much hope of hooking up a graft. For muscle control, the brain can re-learn to use whatever connections get made to regain control of the muscles.

Or something like that.

Steve
8 mm left AN June 2007,  CK at Stanford Sept 2007.
Hearing lasted a while, but left side is deaf now.
Right side is weak too. Life is quiet.

Tumbleweed

« Reply #3 on: June 19, 2008, 08:19:56 am »