Author Topic: Trying to advocate for my father  (Read 5217 times)

Shirlene

Trying to advocate for my father
« on: September 18, 2012, 03:29:37 pm »
Hello!  I'm new to the discussion forum, and posting in general. Please excuse any lay terms or otherwise, as I'm not a medical professional.  My father was diagnosed in 1995 with an acoustic neuroma.  At that time, he had an initial resection of the tumor, and lost hearing in his left ear.  His facial nerve was preserved that time.  His tumor recurred - which is atypical of ANs - in 1997, and he had two more resection operations as the tumor was growing so rapidly.  Also that year, he had gamma knife surgery, six weeks of daily radiation, and oral chemotherapy.  All treatments ended in 1998.  Since then, we have been in W & W mode, and he has had periodic MRIs.  He is a patient of the VA in Kansas City, MO.  We were recently told that the tumor has grown to a 6 x 6 and that there is nothing more the VA docs will do for him.  They stated (paraphrase) to him that he needs to transition to hospice as there is no treatment modality, no advances in chemotherapy, nothing that can be done.  Please HELP!  My father is not ready to give up the fight.  He wants to see his grandsons (my children) grow!  Does anyone have any recommendations for neurosurgeons that are excellent in dealing with recurring ANs?  We have been told that it is likely malignant - which is also atypical of ANs - but have never gotten a definitive diagnosis from anyone on that.  My dad is only 66, and while he is far more frail (uses a walker for mobility now due to the tumor's location near the brain stem) than what he was at the time of the inital diagnosis ... we want to explore any options we can.  Finances are a consideration as he does not have medical insurance.  Any help or recommendations are welcome, and most assuredly appreciated!

Feeling stuck in KC ....

Shirlene

It is what it is

Re: Trying to advocate for my father