Author Topic: Hi there, another newbie here.  (Read 4330 times)

andrea in slc

Hi there, another newbie here.
« on: September 22, 2008, 09:19:01 am »
Hi everyone! Holy cow, can I already say thank you so much for all the info on this site? I have learned a TON already, it helps with the freaked out feeling!

I'm a 41-year-old from Utah who started getting vertigo in February of 2007 (yeah, happy 40th birthday to me). Finally went to an ENT in late March, gave me the usual steroids and antivirals.  I also had an MRI with/without contrast, radiologist said nothing was there. I developed what I thought was Bell's Palsy in early April, and was diagnosed with Ramsay-Hunt Syndrome, which is caused by the chickenpox virus (think shingles, but it attacks 7th and 8th cranial nerves). The Bell's calmed down, I went for vestibular and balance therapy, helped somewhat, and for a time all was peachy. Last fall the dizziness/vertigo flared up again; this time steroids and antivirals didn't help, neither did the balance therapy. Since October of last year, it's been a rollercoaster ride to find out what the heck is going on.

Thankfully, my ENT listened to his gut,which told him to start testing all over again because something wasn't quite right. He called me last Wednesday, 2 hours after my MRI, to tell me I have an AN. Apparently, the %$&&*&* radiologist from 18 months ago read the MRI wrong, and somehow missed a 2.2 cm AN. He had the radiologist from this MRI check the previous one, and yep, there it is, in all its AN glory. Can I just say how angry I am and how much I want to hunt down and slap the crap out of the first radiologist? Oops, sorry, let me go get chocolate to calm down.  ;)

Anyway, now that I know what it is, there is a sense of relief from the uncertainty. Of course, now there is the nervous/scared/freaked out feeling of "oh yes, I will be having brain surgery."  Thanks to this wonderful site and the info from all of you, I'm a little more calm!