Author Topic: Just diagnosed with a small AN - help!  (Read 5415 times)

jays

Just diagnosed with a small AN - help!
« on: May 06, 2009, 02:56:14 pm »
This is my first time posting anything like this, but I really need some advice from those of you have ‘been there – done that’.

I was diagnosed with a small AN on April 22.  A few months I went in for a routine physical since I had not had one in about 7 or 8 years.  (I am 31 now)  I did not really have any symptoms that I was really aware of. (looking back I know I had symptoms but just ignored them)  I am in very good shape, eat right, and am typically in the gym several days a week.  My doctor was basically just going through the motions asking questions expecting to give me a clean bill of health.  When he asked about my hearing, I said – “well now that you mention it, I do notice a hearing difference when I’m in bed and laying on one side version the other.â€?  This had been going for 2 or 3 years, and I would have slight vertigo from time to time, but I just didn’t pay any attention to it.  There were (still are) days when if feels like my ear is completely stuffed with cotton, but this would go away after a few days.  Again, I though maybe I was getting a head cold, or had a mild ear infection – nothing that I would have seen a doctor for.

My doctor referred me to an audiologist for hearing exam.  The audiologist confirmed there was a fairly significant hearing loss in my left ear.  Not sure how I didn’t realize it…?   The audiologist then referred me to an ENT.