Author Topic: I got my disability!....(with a catch)  (Read 13874 times)

Captain Deb

• Phearless Phyll and Captain Deb!
    • Captain Deb
I got my disability!....(with a catch)
« on: March 21, 2008, 09:01:51 am »
First the good news...the friggin Social Unsecurity Misadministation finally approved me for disability due to unrelenting headaches from my AN surgery in January of 03.  Now I get a whoppin' $600 a month and Medicare which covers hospital stays and procedures and doc visits but no prescriptions.

Now for the bad news. >:(.They've managed to screw me out of $22,600!!!! >:(  When I became disabled I was a self-employed working artist with a large painting inventory which continued to sell even though I couldn't paint and they decided to consider the start of my disability was when my inventory ran out! June of 06. Financial instead of physical. They decided to wait till I was ruined financially to start paying me benefits. Ain't that sweet. My lawyer is livid! He says they have to pay for the war some way! I'm getting a whopping $7500 instead of $30,100.  He says SS is doing these partial retroactives to all his SSD clients lately and he's had to lay off his secretary.

I have to make the decision in the next few days whether to appeal this or not. I'll get the same judge--it took her a year to think this one over--do I want to wait another year? There are a number of other factors at play here which I can't go into here, like documents that her office says she never recieved which is crap.

I've been putting my medical and prescription bills that my insurance won't cover on 2 credit cards that $75friggin00 won't begin to touch, but it's a start. And I am able to work a little, but not much lately as I have been giving myself a Neurontin break.

I have very mixed feelings right now and will stay in touch.

Hugs to you all,

Capt Deb

« Last Edit: April 01, 2008, 11:41:30 am by Captain Deb »