Author Topic: eye drop residue  (Read 4261 times)

steph

eye drop residue
« on: October 13, 2005, 07:05:09 am »
does anyone have this problem: every night I put lacri lube in my eye and tape it down. I have been doing this for 12 months, now by eyelashes are all droppy from the residue of the lube and I have a really hard time getting the tape residue off in the morning, does anyone have a magic treatment for this? the doctor suggested alcohol and I told him there is no way I am putting alcohol near my eye, the one that does not tear. I'll try just about anything. help.

JHager

Re: eye drop residue
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2005, 07:41:45 am »
Hi Steph,

Odd as it may sound, a little vegetable or olive oil may do the trick without scorching your eye.  Dab some on a cotton ball or washcloth.  Mineral oil works even better, but again, I don't think you want that near your eye.

Good luck!

Josh
3.5 cm right AN.  Surgery 11/7/05, modified translab.  As recovered as I'd ever hoped to be.

Joef

• ** I rather be Kayak Fishing **
« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2005, 08:11:45 am »
I have tape at the lower eye lid to hold it up .. using tape the eye doc gave me (its not scotch tape), it does leave a little residue .. it does not really bother me ... I do take extra long showers in the morning, my eye likes it and clean up any residue ...

Joe

4cm removed at house
Aug9,2005
4 cm AN/w BAHA Surgery @House Ear Clinic 08/09/05
Dr. Brackmann, Dr. Hitselberger, Dr. Stefan and Dr. Joni Doherty
1.7 Gram Gold Eye weight surgery on 6/8/07 Milford,CT Hospital

Pembo

« Reply #3 on: October 13, 2005, 10:32:37 am »
Does your eye close or almost close when you sleep? The doc let me stop taping once my eye almost closed on command. It still does not close tight but enough to keep the lube in and my eye feels fine in the morning.

Also when I did tape, I put a cotton ball on my eyelid and taped over the cotton ball. That might help.