Author Topic: My second year MRI results Fine!!!  (Read 3325 times)

Mei Mei

My second year MRI results Fine!!!
« on: January 07, 2012, 04:41:24 pm »
Dear ANers,
I didn't know where to post this but thought the Community was the best place.   I had my second post surgical MRI on Tuesday and took the CD to the wonderful Maureen Moriarity at Georgetown and she went over the results on the computer one pic at a time.   She told me how beautiful my brain looked (Don't want to be a Beautiful Mind, if you saw the movie).   She told me there was not tumor there and I was fine.

At this juncture, I have some thoughts of the AN experience.    I was fortunate to have a fantastic ENT, Dr. Douglas Feldman when I thought I had impacted cerumen (wax).    He said all was fine but to take a hearing test which showed a  35 dB hearing loss.   He sent me upstairs where they worked me in for an MRI at the end of the day on Friday afternoon.  On Tuesday, another doctor told me that I had this AN and not to worry because it was benign.   I wish that I had listened to him because I rushed in to things and surgery before I understood the full picture.  I got four opinions and nobody was in a rush but Hopkins that said I might have a stroke.   They also recommended Retrosigmoid but didn't use the word and just said cut from the back of the head.   Dr. Friedman said Middle Fossa and so did Univ. of MD, the doc at Cornell to which I always go to first because that was where I was born, said all the proper things like surgery, watch and wait and radiation.   He left the choice to MOI!!!   Because of Hopikins saying I was at risk for stroke, I went with them.   I didn't know they were doing the retrosigmoid approach and had never heard the word before.   I went with them and have been sorry ever since.   I've gone through the headaches, treatment with a neurologist, occipital nerve blocks and near dear experience at the Cleveland Clinic..   I found Dr. Ducic and Myofacial Release Therapy at th