Author Topic: Scared & confused college student  (Read 4395 times)

Emily19

Scared & confused college student
« on: June 23, 2016, 12:57:03 am »
Hello! I am a college student who had vestibular schwannoma surgery about a year ago when I was 19. I didn't really have a choice on the procedure. The doctors said if I wanted to continue living until next year, it was necessary because of the enormous size, 4.3cm. Uninterested in anything to do with my new found tumor I was not actively involved in any of my medical decisions because I truly just did not care to hear anything about it. I have had all the common symptoms everyone else relates to, and permanent hearing loss in my right ear. But the biggest complication in my life right now is how I am noticing my memory is not as sharp as it once was. I want to return to school, I am a biology major. I am scared and nervous that I won't be able to continue any obstacle I may face in life if my memory is worsening. I am completely terrified. I need some advice and I don't know where to turn.

Tod

• My blog (work and life)
Re: Scared & confused college student
« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2016, 08:20:23 pm »
Emily19, my tumor was about the same size. Surgery was 32 hours long and I was almost 50. It wasn't easy, but I came back to full functionality.  It took awhile to feel normal again, even after taking three months off. it is simply going to take time to recover. It is now 6.5 years post for me and memory is the least of my worries.

It takes time to heal. The body has its own calendar. You will likely also find that the more you stay mentally engaged through reading, writing, and just being involved, that things will improve. Be active, not passive, both mentally and physically.

Tod
Bob the tumor: 4.4cm x 3.9cm x 4.1 cm.
Trans-Lab and Retro-sigmoid at MCV on 2/12/2010.

Removed 90-95% in a 32 hour surgery. Two weeks in ICU.  SSD Left.

http://randomdatablog.com

BAHA implant 1/25/11.

28 Sessions of FSR @ MCV ended 2/9/12.