Author Topic: For External Lid Weight Users.......  (Read 4100 times)

CROOKEDSMILE

For External Lid Weight Users.......
« on: September 17, 2008, 06:44:34 am »
I've been using mine for the last 5 months and had started wearing it to bed at night. Well.....My eyelid started to get irritated and really red. I am now taking it off at night to give my eyelid a break and I wear a silk eyemask while sleeping and that keeps my eyelid closed at night and protects it from the fan which my husband loves to run at hurricane speed. I woke up to a happy eyelid this morning ready to wear the weight again. No tenderness and no redness. Whew!
Also...I was wondering......as your eyelid gains strength..have any of you ordered a lighter external/smaller weight?

Kaybo

Re: For External Lid Weight Users.......
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2008, 06:49:41 am »
Crookedsmile~
Hey!  I don't have much experience w/the external weight YET but am having my weight removed Tuesday morning and then will probably wear one until my lid heals & I can get another one put in!
Just wanted to say HI though!
;D
Translab 12/95@Houston Methodist(Baylor College of Medicine)for "HUGE" tumor-no size specified
25 yrs then-14 hour surgery-stroke
12/7 Graft 1/97
Gold Weight x 5
SSD
Facial Paralysis-R(no movement or feelings in face,mouth,eye)
T3-3/08
Great life!

Debbi

• Originator of the Magic Scarf
    • Debbi's AN Blog
« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2008, 01:12:38 pm »
Not sure about the lighter weights and have been wondering the same thing.  I've developed a rash with my Blinkeze so am only wearing it for "special" occasions now.  However, my eye has gotten a little better and appears to be at least trying to blink.  I still can't totally close it, but find sleeping with a soft eye mask (lined with Glad Press 'n' Seal) and puralube works just fine.

Debbi
Debbi - diagnosed March 4, 2008 
2.4 cm Right Side AN
Translab April 30, 2008 at NYU with Drs. Golfinos and Roland