Author Topic: I am a newbie....  (Read 3144 times)

sher

I am a newbie....
« on: May 21, 2008, 12:19:20 am »
Just diagnosed today with a 2 centimeter AN. Not sure what to do...
Sher
1.2cm x 0.6 cm extracanicular component (7 mm) 05/08/08
MRI in AUG 08  showed 30 % growth
Having CK 9/30, 10/1 and 10/2/08
1/12/08 MRI shows swelling

Sue

• Que sera, sera
    • My Blog
Re: I am a newbie....
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2008, 12:38:46 am »
Hi Sher,

Welcome to our little club.  Sorry you are becoming one of our newest members.  First, remember to breath!  It's hard when you are newly diagnosed with something you probably never heard of before. But breathing is a good thing!  And keeping things in perspective is good also.  That's also hard to do at the beginning when the news is so fresh and you are feeling overwhelmed and confused.  This is a great site for you to learn about things, ask questions, find a friend, whatever it takes to help you get through this.

I also have a 2 cm AN.  For various reasons, my treatment was done via Gamma Knife radiosurgery and now it's been over two years since my treatment and all is going well.

You can join the ANA here and they will send you literature to look at.  That's a good first step.  Your doctors will no doubt talk to you about a course of action.  My advice would be for you to learn about Acoustic Neuroma and to learn the different methods of treatment. There is Watch and Wait, which probably won't be advised for you since your AN is in the medium catagory, microsurgery and radiosurgery.  Since your tumor isn't in the large catagory, you might look into Gamma Knife or Cyber Knife or one of the other delivery systems for radiation which can effectively kill the tumor.  Or you might decide that you'd rather have the surgery.  You should talk to doctors that will give you a good idea of what each option would entail for you.