General Category > AN Issues

thank goodness, please help!

(1/2) > >>

lori78:
I am so happy to have found this forum~  I'm 28, live in Richmond, VA, and was diagnosed w a large 3.5 cystic AN in 10/06.  Sincew then I've had two 15 hr operations and Gamma Knife.  I'll know my tumor status after a scan in October.
My last surg was 1/28 w radiation on March 15th.  A ccouple of issues I still have :  balance problems, I can't feel the left side of my face and it doesn'r create moisture (tears), fatigue, deaf in the lefy, shooting mouth pain, but what is bothering me the MOST is extreme depression and anxiety.  I wake up some mornings in a panic and slept away most of April.  Everyone, including my doc, seems to think I should be 'back to normal', I am a therapist and tried every support group, meds etc. I could find, and they help only a little.  I also had ICU PSychosis and some residual paranoia from that (less trusting, more guarded).  IF any of you can respond to the psych piece of this, what has helped, etc. I'd really appreciate it.  Thanks so much for reading.  This is such a long haul for all of us, and I admire many of you and your courage/strength!

tony:
I am sure there are others who feel the same way
- check out the search function for "Post Op Depression"
might shine a light on for you
- its actually rather more common than most medical folk
seem to understand
- also check out the current "need to vent" thread you may find some common ground
with the contributors
Best Regards
Tony

Captain Deb:
Lori,
For many of us, getting back to "normal" is a pipe dream and we have had to adjust to a "new normal" which takes time.