General Category > AN Issues

Has anyone retained hearing after having a retrosigmoid with a 3cm AN?

(1/2) > >>

CA Marti:
Hi everyone,

I'm trying to help my friend who is a musician. Retaining hearing is extremely important in our line of work. Her hearing is perfect now in the AN ear and the doctors suggest doing a translab as a better procedure for her. I was wondering if anyone had success in retaining their hearing and facial nerve with a retrosigmoid procedure and which doctors and hospitals you used? If you happen to have a 3cm or greater acoustic neuroma and had success with the retrosigmoid procedure we would greatly appreciate your input and information.
Thank you!
CA Marti

donjehle:
Hi Marti!

Last month, an ANA Support Group for Musicians met virtually.  I am not a musician, and so I did not attend it and cannot tell you the turnout nor when they might be meeting in the future.  However, I can give you the name of the contact person, and she might be able to tell you if the Musician Support Group will be meeting again in the future.  And if not, she might be able to give you additional contacts of musicians who have had acoustic neuromas.  Your friend might benefit from talking to other musicians who had acoustic neuromas.

The ANA Support Group for Musician facilitator was:

Stefanie Batson-Martin
407-493-7095
floridaswimmer14@aol.com

I hope this information is helpful for your friend.
Don

CA Marti:
Hi Don,