Author Topic: Single side deaf and cochlar implant for good ear  (Read 1575 times)

Dave_S121

Single side deaf and cochlar implant for good ear
« on: September 08, 2022, 06:29:09 pm »
I lost the hearing in my right in October 2004.  I had a 2.2cm acoustic neuroma removed using the Translabyrinthine Approach by Dr. Richard Wiet in Hinsdale Hospital.  At the time of the surgery Dr. Wiet placed a BAHA post in the lower right part of my skull.  Since the surgery the hearing in my left ear has been getting worse.  I've been wearing a hearing aid in my left ear since about 2006.  About 7 years ago I stopped wearing my BAHA and switched to a CROSS hearing aid in my right ear.  Recent audiology tests have shown decrease in my word recognition skill and further high frequency hearing loss.  My ENT'S physician assistant said that if the hearing loss continued they would refer me to their cochlar implant team for an evaulation.  I would be interested knowing of anyone's experience with single sided deafness and a choclar implant in their "good" ear.  Thank you in advance for any responses. 
68 years old
2.2cm AN Right side
Removed 10/20/2004 Translab
Dr. Wiet and Dr. Kazan
Hinsdale Hospital, Hinsdale, IL.

donjehle

Re: Single side deaf and cochlar implant for good ear
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2022, 05:02:08 pm »
Hi Dave_S121, and thank you for sharing your experience on the forums!

I am not familiar with Dr. Wiet, but I am a tiny bit familiar with the Hindsdale Hospital.  I met a woman who worked at Hinsdale Hospital back in the early 1980's, and we ended up getting married.  So, Hinsdale Hospital will always have a special place in my heart!  I'm not familiar with its experience with acoustic neuromas though.