AN Community > AN Community

Hello and introduction...

(1/2) > >>

Matthew:
Hi everyone... My name is Matt, I'm 46 years old, living in Minnesota. I was diagnosed by MRI on 7/5/17 with a R side 1.8cm x 1.3cm x 1.8cm AN following and audiology appointment for R sided hearing loss/intermittent tinnitus. I work as an RN and have been an active musician for many years, playing out regularly. Other than the R hearing loss, tinnitus and an occasional 'ticking' sound, I've had no symptoms. Unfortunately, my R ear has always been my "good" ear, as a series of childhood L ear infections, tubes and an eventual typanoplasty caused my L sided hearing to be a bit impaired, although adequate.

First, let me say WOW!! What an emotional roller coaster! I mean- scary stuff, right?!?! It is a lot to take in, both topically and emotionally. I'm very glad I found this forum as it has pointed me toward some great resources and has let me read some very informative posts. There is a lot of information out there, but I have done my best (but not always) to stick with highly reputable sources. Although I have looked at all of the treatment options and have formed some idea of what I want to do, I'm trying to keep an open mind until my first consult. I'm hoping my doctors will provide what they feel will be the best approach for the size/location of my AN and my life moving forward. My first consultation is 8/22 at Mayo Clinic with Dr. Link and Dr. Carlson.

A true thank you to everyone who has shared their stories and insight on this forum, it has been extremely helpful to me during this past month. My consultation is now less than 2 weeks away, and for that I am grateful. In the meantime I'll just keep trying to stay busy, researching and waiting. And I truly hope the waiting is hardest part! :)

mandihester:
Good luck to you in the coming weeks as you gather information and decide who you want to proceed!!

IL17JJ:
Welcome to the Forum Matt!