Author Topic: New Yorkers! Choosing between Kondziolka, Pannullo and Greene - any input?  (Read 3668 times)

Jed Becker

I'm reposting this here as I originally posted it in a different, and I believe incorrect, forum. Apologies to the moderator.

Hi everyone and thank to everyone who makes this forum possible.

I'm choosing between three doctors here in NYC and would love to hear from anyone who's had radiosurgery with any of them. How was the experience? Were they easy to work with? Available post surgery? Did they over-promise?

The doctors are Dr. Pannullo @ Weill Cornell; Dr. Kondziolka @ NYU; and Dr. Greene @ Mt. Sinai.

Additionally, there's the same old question of fractionated vs. one-shot radiology. NYU only has the GammaKnife which does NOT do fractionated, yet I'm very concerned with preserving the hearing I still have (I'm a professional musician and audio engineer, so this kinda sux :(..) and I've had some doctors lead me to believe that fractionated is safer and a better bet at preserving hearing. Yet I've seen literature that says that there's not enough data yet to back up that claim. Any input?

Thanks in advance to any replies.

Jed
Modify message

richcooks

Jed,