Author Topic: Any one had translab and without titanium mesh?  (Read 5370 times)

raji83

Any one had translab and without titanium mesh?
« on: September 08, 2014, 12:10:34 pm »
Hello,

I am going for my surgery in October. And just came to know that (not sure how real it is) if they do translab and don't put titanium mesh it leaves soft spot behind the ear from where they took that bone flap and you might get ear deformity .Is any one having these side effects?

CHD63

• Life is good again!!
Re: Any one had translab and without titanium mesh?
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2014, 01:36:00 pm »
Hi mot83 .....

To be honest, I cannot remember reading about anyone not having the bone replaced that was removed to gain access (which I think is done less and less these days) or titanium mesh and/or plates.  Something needs to protect the brain where a piece of the skull is removed, I would think.

I am not a doctor so perhaps another AN patient will add a reply here on another possible closure/protection they had.

I have had three craniotomies and all of them were closed with titanium mesh.  My translab surgery is the only one in which fat from my abdomen was used to fill in the space from the mastoidectomy part.  Titanium mesh was then placed over that.  I have had no headaches nor any other skull-related problems with either of my AN surgeries.

Just curious ..... are you allergic to titanium and that is why the question?

Many thoughts.  Clarice
Right MVD for trigeminal neuralgia, 1994, Pittsburgh, PA
Left retrosigmoid 2.6 cm AN removal, February, 2008, Duke U
Tumor regrew to 1.3 cm in February, 2011
Translab AN removal, May, 2011 at HEI, Friedman & Schwartz
Oticon Ponto Pro abutment implant at same time; processor added August, 2011

feline

« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2014, 01:50:41 pm »
I had tit mesh and even though it has only been 3 months post AN sx at Stanford its a liitle soft but no ear deformities and no headaches.