Author Topic: Re: Social Security Disability  (Read 6217 times)

ewhitese

Re: Social Security Disability
« on: December 22, 2013, 08:41:18 pm »
I am a newby just did Gama Knife in august. I am a 31 year veteran school teacher 54 years old.  My last treatment was the day before classes started in august.  I am 4 months out and find myself feeling out of control in my work place for the first time in my life.  I am struggling to keep up the last couple of weeks and am thankful for the Christmas break.  I have been contemplating an early retirement and wondering about SSDI. I didn't consider any cognitive effects in my decision to Gama Knife and am just now realizing that they exist.  The combination of tinnitus, hearing loss and memory difficulties really snuck up on me. I didn't realize there would be this much impact.

As a SSDI recipient are you allowed to work part time or change employment with less pay, less stress and still collect a benefit?  I can't picture myself not working at something and would not want to be forced into stopping activity due to fear of loosing benefits.  I am close enough to take an early retirement but the medical insurance costs for the 10 years till medicare will take the lion share of my pension.  Pardon me if I am hijacking a topic, I am new to the forum world and not sure I am doing this correctly I apologize if I have offended.  I typically stay away from social media, it tends to be used as a club in my profession if deemed politically incorrect.
« Last Edit: December 23, 2013, 09:04:51 am by Jim Scott »

Jim Scott

• 1943-2020 Please keep Jim's family in your hearts
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2013, 09:14:51 am »
Ewhitese ~

I slighted edited and moved your post into it's own thread to help it receive better attention than it would receive at the tail end of another thread.