Author Topic: Deciding between Ponto Pro and BP 100  (Read 3170 times)

sarahac

Deciding between Ponto Pro and BP 100
« on: September 30, 2013, 07:48:50 pm »
 Hello Everyone,

I have been using the Devino since 2006. Now I am upgrading, and am trying to decide between the BP 100 or the Ponto Pro. I had the opportunity to try both briefly in my audiologist's office, and there were pros and cons to each.

I am leaning towards the Ponto Pro, but I have one concern with it that makes me a little nervous, and that is the manner in which it attaches to the abuttment. Since it fits around the outside of the abuttment, and you attach it by kind of rocking it on, I am concerned that it may fall off easier than the BP100 if it is bumped. My Devino did fall off one time when I bumped my head against something, but I know I bumped my head occasionally at other times and it did not fall off. I am wondering if the Ponto Pro would be more likely to fall off?

In the brief amount of time I had to try each, I think I liked the sound quality better with the Ponto Pro. The BP 100 had that sound where it sounded like you were listening to people over a speaker phone or answering machine, and it seemed that the Ponto Pro didn't sound like that, at least not as much. (and I don't care for that sound -- it sounds very unnatural to me). But it has been over a week now, so it is hard to remember for sure; I'm now finding myself questioning my memory of the Ponto Pro in this regard. (Incidentally, my Devino also has that speaker phone/answering machine sound when the switch is flipped up to get sounds coming from all directions.)

Things I liked better about the BP 100 were the fact that it has volume buttons instead of a wheel, and the buttons were placed on the top of the BP making them easier to get to, rather than needing to reach to the back side to adjust the wheel of the Ponto. The wheel was very tiny, so it was harder to control to adjust slightly.