Author Topic: Considering SoundBite?  (Read 3667 times)

Tamster

Considering SoundBite?
« on: March 09, 2013, 08:17:24 am »
I have been using my Soundbite for 14 months.  I am completely deaf in  my left ear, so for me, being able to hear  sounds on my left side again is "magic."   I work with young children, teaching them to read, and this is where I find it is particularly useful to me.   When I'm at home, with just my husband, I can wear it or not as I have little difficulty hearing him in our quiet home environment.

Because it is worn in the mouth, at times when eating out, I will choose not to take it with me.  Many times, I've worn it into a restaurant and decided to take it out while eating. I still find that positioning myself so others are seated toward my hearing side  helps me most.

At a loud event such as a college basketball game, I've tried several things, alone and in combinations: the Soundbite, noise-canceling earphones, and an earplug in my hearing ear. This is for me the most challenging of situations, along with noisy restaurants.  Usually, i don't use the Soundbite. I will just use an ear plug in my good ear, and if I really need to chat with someone, I remove it and turn that ear to that person. 

Sonitus took on my insurance and tried to get them to pay, but despite their efforts, my insurance declined.  I have paid for it entirely out of pocket.  That said, Sonitus has been wonderful to work with. When I had problems with one of the mouthpieces, they quickly replaced it, hassle-free.

For me, the Soundbite has been the best choice. I did not want more surgery and the possibility of complications. 

Overall, I feel the Soundbite has been worthwhile.  The decision to have one would be easier if the cost were shared by insurance, but even so, I have been very glad I have it. In my work setting, in particular, it has made a world of difference.