Author Topic: Is it common to have balance deficiency on both sides?  (Read 4639 times)

christynic

Is it common to have balance deficiency on both sides?
« on: June 28, 2012, 12:46:19 am »
I'm new to all of this - I had surgery in January and expected to be back to work within 12 weeks.  It took me 9 weeks to even attempt driving, and then only two miles because of the intense dizziness.  It's now five months and I'm still totally disoriented in a new place, and have to concentrate on keeping my legs in the right place while walking.  I can't control my legs when I walk with my eyes closed.  It's so frustrating to read about all the people that have had AN surgery and are driving, or running, after a month!  When I run it looks like the Blair Witch Project - the scenery bounces like crazy. 

I am seeing my surgeon next week to read the results of a test they did on my remaining (right) balance nerve to see how functional it is, and I'm wondering how common it is to have a deficient balance nerve on the non-surgical side.  How abnormal am I, and is there anything I'm doing wrong?  I have PT once a week; that's what I can afford  :)

Christy
1.5 cm Left AN removed 1/24/12
Suboccipital resection/Scripps Green La Jolla
Left SSD (pre-surgery hearing was 100%)
34 yrs old

arizonajack

• Arizona - It's a Dry Heat
Re: Is it common to have balance deficiency on both sides?
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2012, 10:16:11 am »
Did you have a VNG (Videonystagmography)?

http://www.stopdizziness.com/services_vng.asp

If you did, I can't imagine why they didn't tell you the results on the spot.

When I had mine a couple of weeks ago, the tester told me the results right then.

3/15/18 12mm x 6mm x5mm
9/21/16 12mm x 7mm x 5mm
3/23/15 12mm x 5.5mm x 4mm
3/13/14 12mm x 6mm x 4mm
8/1/13 14mm x 5mm x 4mm (Expected)
1/22/13 12mm x 3mm (Gamma Knife)
10/10/12 11mm x 4mm x 5mm
4/4/12 9mm x 4mm x 3mm (Diagnosis)

My story at: http://www.anausa.org/smf/index.php?topic=18287.0

LakeErie