Author Topic: Numbness  (Read 3330 times)

Twindy

Numbness
« on: May 10, 2012, 06:37:58 am »
I had radiosurgery on tuesday and am just wondering how long to expect numbness in my skull.  Also, one of the pins was right above my eyebrow and I'm having trouble raising that eyebrow...do you think that is due to the pin having been there or am I having facial problems?  It's the strangest sensation...when I touch that forehead pin site I feel a sensation on the top of my head!  And finally, I'm having a little twinge along my jaw/neck...normal?   I'm assuming these are all normal reactions, but am curious if any of you had them.  Otherwise I am doing fine. 

Cheryl R

Re: Numbness
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2012, 07:05:07 am »
twindy, Is it a little swollen at that pin site?  That might be some of the problem if it is.   I have no experience with that but if still there after a couple days then did they give you a number to call if have questions like have from the oto clinic?        I hope all goes well for you now and hope it works with no long term issues!      I hope the rest of 2012 goes well for you as took a lot of time to make what was the best choice of treatment for you.
                                                                     Cheryl R
Right mid fossa 11-01-01
  left tumor found 5-03,so have NF2
  trans lab for right facial nerve tumor
  with nerve graft 3-23-06
   CSF leak revision surgery 4-07-06
   left mid fossa 4-17-08
   near deaf on left before surgery
   with hearing much improved .
    Univ of Iowa for all care

Bonnie B.

« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2012, 07:09:11 am »
Hi Twindy,
I had GK in March and the scalp numbness lasted a few days.  The same with the eyebrow thing.    It did leave however.

Hang in there.

Bonnie

diangosed 1/2012  with 1.7 cum AN
GK  3/15/2012
1.7 cm AN
diagnosed January, 2012 - no hearing L ear
GK surgery done March 15, 2012 at Yale New Haven Hospital, New Haven, Ct.
Dr. Chiang and Dr. Yu

Twindy