Author Topic: Thyroid Cancer and AN  (Read 2845 times)

bigfun13

Thyroid Cancer and AN
« on: August 10, 2009, 09:26:59 am »
Hello all - newbie here - I had an AN removed 13 years ago and last weak I was diagnosed with thyroid cancer - I understand it is very treatable and have been told that much like an AN was the best kind of brain tumor - thyroid is the best cancer to get ( I am just lucky I guess)

I was just wondering if anybody knows of any connection between the two - I have read other topics and they discussed thyroid problems and most people seemed to have the thyroid problem first then the AN so I am just looking for some info or anybody that has had both.

Thanks in advance for any info

ppearl214

• Administrator
  • ANA Forum Policewoman - PBW Cursed Cruise Director
Re: Thyroid Cancer and AN
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2009, 09:36:29 am »
Hi and welcome. I'm sorry to hear of this diagnosis and trust that you are doing all of your research prior to your procedure.  I, personally, have not hear of a correlation between AN's and thyroid cancer, esp. since AN's are benign overgrowth of Schwan cells vs. thyroid cancer.  I had left 1/2 of my thyroid removed over 10 yrs ago due to benign growth (they thought malignant with needle aspiration but found it to be benign during frozen section in OR) and did not get my AN diagnosis until much time later.

Maybe do an online search about it, but as for me, I've not heard of any relationship between the 2.

Best wishes for wellness.
Phyl
"Gentlemen, I wash my hands of this weirdness", Capt Jack Sparrow - Davy Jones Locker, "Pirates of the Carribbean - At World's End"

Kaybo

« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2009, 10:17:41 am »
Hi Big Fun!